Mike Burns receiving the Governor’s Award of Excellence” from Governor Brownback

Governor Brownback and Mike Burns pose for a picture holding the award for The Governor’s Award of Excellence and Bio-Microbics.

Gov. Sam Brownback recognized AuBurn Pharmacy of Garnett with the Governor’s Award of Excellence and Bio-Microbics of Shawnee with the Governor’s Exporter of the Year Award at the annual Kansas Cavalry Encampment at Butler County Community College in El Dorado.

The two awards are the state’s top business honors and are the culmination of Business Appreciation Month, the Department’s annual statewide tribute to Kansas businesses for their contributions to the state. The event is sponsored the Kansas Department of Commerce and the Kansas Cavalry, a volunteer group of business leaders who promote the state as a desirable business location.

The AuBurn group accepting the Governors Award

Ed Pyle, Ryan Moore, Mike Burns, Eileen Burns, Chelsea Dogherty, and Governor Sam Brownback pose for a picture with the Glass Trophy they were awarded.

  “AuBurn Pharmacy and Bio-Microbics represent the best of business and of Kansas,” Brownback said. “These companies are innovators and deeply committed to the communities they reside in and the customers they serve. They are great examples of why Kansas is a great place for business.”

Mike Burns delivers his acceptance speech


Mike Burns stands at the microphone to give his speech.

  Finalists for the Governor’s Exporter of the Year Award were Bunting Magnetics (Newton); Premier Pneumatics (Salina); ICE Corp. (Manhattan); and KASA Industrial Controls (Salina). The Exporter of the Year Award is sponsored by the Department and the Kansas International Trade Coordinating Council.

“I want to congratulate all the companies recognized during Business Appreciation Month,” said Kansas Commerce Secretary Pat George. “There are many outstanding companies doing some great things in business and in their communities. We are fortunate that these businesses call Kansas home.”

Also recognized with Kansas Business Hall of Fame Awards were University of Kansas graduate and Ford Motor Co. President and CEO Alan Mulally and Joseph G. McCoy (1837-1915), a Kansas cattle trade pioneer.

AuBurn Pharmacy Inc. owns and operates twelve retail pharmacies in Kansas, three in Missouri, a hospital pharmacy and a long-term care facility business that focuses on behavior health services.

Based in Garnett, the company uses a business model that allows it to successfully compete with larger-scale businesses and keep local pharmacies alive in small and rural communities. AuBurn Pharmacy has made capital investments over the last 10 years totaling $6.65 million. The company provides many educational and training opportunities for its staff, and community involvement is encouraged. AuBurn also provides scholarships and sponsors mentoring programs at the high school and college level.


Contact AuBurn Pharmacy for more information

AuBurn Pharmacy

Michael W. Burns, RPh. President/CEO
259 W Park Rd
Garnett, KS 66032
(785) 448-3600




“Caring for the health of you and your community” – Awards